display in form

display in form

Postby maw2be » Sat Jan 23, 2016 2:02 am

I have a form. I use couple dropdown, take data from tables. when I click on entry and open it I see proper information. but when I close (or before click on row) I see a numbers instead text. how to change it?
maw2be
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:13 pm

Re: display in form

Postby admin » Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:16 pm

I don't understand,

Can you post a picture?

Steven
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3234
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:53 am

Re: display in form

Postby maw2be » Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:30 pm

case type, hub and jurisdiction should be a text not numbers. when you entry form you get text.
how to change it?

nubuilder.jpg
nubuilder.jpg (150.79 KiB) Viewed 6547 times
maw2be
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:13 pm

Re: display in form

Postby Richsurvey » Wed Jan 27, 2016 3:43 am

Hi maw2be,

Instead of the primary key in your SQL statement use the desired field name twice. e.g.:

If you originally had this: SELECT case_type_id, case_type_name FROM case_type

Change it to this:

Code: Select all
SELECT case_type_name, case_type_name FROM case_type


This works for me, but I'm not sure if this is the correct way this type of problem should be solved.
Richsurvey
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:20 am

Re: display in form

Postby maw2be » Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:42 pm

Hi Richsurvey
no it's not working for me. I'm still see numbers (some primary key or what is that) in form field. Have to entry into it to see value. Will carry on to find solution.

EDIT: It's works, I simply have to try on new entry, delete old one.
maw2be
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:13 pm

Re: display in form

Postby admin » Fri Feb 12, 2016 11:14 am

maw2be,

To Show Hub you will need to link the hub table you use in your dropdown, to your enquiry table (with INNER JOIN) and choose this field in the Browse instead of the Foreign Key in the enquiry table.

Steven
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3234
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:53 am

Re: display in form

Postby rawia_tsalih » Fri Mar 18, 2016 4:24 pm

Dear Richsurvey you're amazing my problem solved :) :) :) :)
rawia_tsalih
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 4:36 am

Re: display in form

Postby admin » Thu Mar 31, 2016 7:56 am

.
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3234
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:53 am


Return to General