#RECORD_ID# not working in Default Filter for Browse

#RECORD_ID# not working in Default Filter for Browse

Postby mlawton » Fri May 13, 2016 5:56 am

I cannot seem to pass the RECORD_ID of the current for to another form invoked by a button on the current form. If I use any of the fields on the form, they work, but RECORD_ID does not. I tried using #vendor_id#, which is the field name of the unique id (and should be the same value as #RECORD_ID#), but for it to work I need to ensure vendor_id is on the form that has the button, which is problematic because it is the primary key and gets updated twice (as mentioned in another post).

I read in some other posts that some others have experienced this problem. Has it been fixed, or am I doing something wrong?
mlawton
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 1:46 am

Re: #RECORD_ID# not working in Default Filter for Browse

Postby admin » Wed May 18, 2016 3:29 pm

mlawton,

You need to explain where and when you are trying to use #RECORD_ID#. What event are you using eg.. is it on Before Save?

Steven
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3233
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:53 am

Re: #RECORD_ID# not working in Default Filter for Browse

Postby mlawton » Thu May 19, 2016 12:10 am

I am using #RECORD_ID# in the Default Filter for Browse option of a button I have created to go on a form. The #RECORD_ID# should resolve to be the vendor_id of the record I am displaying in this form, and I need to pass this vendor_id to the browse view of the form called via the button, to limit the records displayed in the called form to those for the vendor displayed in the calling form.
mlawton
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 1:46 am

Re: #RECORD_ID# not working in Default Filter for Browse

Postby admin » Thu May 19, 2016 10:30 am

mlawton,

Here it is working in the livedemo..

rec1.PNG
rec1.PNG (44.68 KiB) Viewed 7734 times


rec2.PNG
rec2.PNG (22.22 KiB) Viewed 7734 times


Attached is the sql for the live demo


Steven
Attachments
livedemo.zip
(735.49 KiB) Downloaded 196 times
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3233
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:53 am

Re: #RECORD_ID# not working in Default Filter for Browse

Postby mlawton » Thu May 19, 2016 10:22 pm

Interesting. Your example is for a Browse object. I am using a Button object. I tested my form using a Browse object and it does indeed work as you've shown. But the Button does not. Can you try your example using a Button object to call the target form?
mlawton
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 1:46 am

Re: #RECORD_ID# not working in Default Filter for Browse

Postby david » Mon May 23, 2016 4:33 pm

Hi mlawton,

I did some tests and saw exactly what you were describing.
I have added a change to nuBuilder that should fix this. You can update nuBuilder or check out the github repository.
david
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 5:31 pm

Re: #RECORD_ID# not working in Default Filter for Browse

Postby mlawton » Wed May 25, 2016 4:05 am

Thanks David and Steven. I updated nuBuilder and now it works fine. Much appreciated.
mlawton
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 1:46 am

Re: #RECORD_ID# not working in Default Filter for Browse

Postby admin » Thu May 26, 2016 10:59 am

.
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3233
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:53 am


Return to General



cron