Page 2 of 2

Re: 'Name cannot be left blank' when running a report

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:09 pm
by admin
John,

You could always create a new Form for the Selection Criteria Form.

The problem has to do with the "Blank" Form there is a hidden text Object on it.

Steven

Re: 'Name cannot be left blank' when running a report

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:28 pm
by JohnKlassen
Steven,

I am not sure what you mean by,
The problem has to do with the "Blank" Form there is a hidden text Object on it.
Are you saying there is a problem with the "Blank" form which will be fixed soon? If that is the case, I will wait for the fix and work on other stuff. Meanwhile I still can't look at the output of sample reports from samplenufinancial for ideas on how to create and format reports.

You also say,
You could always create a new Form for the Selection Criteria Form.
As I mentioned previously, I am temporarily creating a report by using the form wizard to select the fields from a table and specifying that report criteria is set to 'yes'. I then select that form for the 'Selection Criteria Form'. I am not sure how creating a new form will help. Won't it still display all of the fields just like an 'edit' form?

Thanks,

John

Re: 'Name cannot be left blank' when running a report

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:21 pm
by martbarr
Yes I have the same thing - will look a bit closer to day and see if I can see why .....

Re: 'Name cannot be left blank' when running a report

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:22 pm
by martbarr
Fixed with

update zzsys_object set sob_text_no_blanks = '0', `sob_text_no_duplicates` ='0' where zzsys_object_id = '145997277e1114';

(sob_text_no_duplicates also needs to be 0 onthe blank form object)

Cheers
Martin

Re: 'Name cannot be left blank' when running a report

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 2:08 pm
by JohnKlassen
Martin,

That worked!

Thanks very much for the help.

John

Re: 'Name cannot be left blank' when running a report

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:21 pm
by johan
John,

Since the value was already a '1', it did not update any rows.


This value has to be '0' and not '1' Make sure that every field no_blanks is set to '0'

When you select
Code: Select all
select * from zzsys_object where zzsys_object_id = '145997277e1114';

Do you get the object 'name' of form with id 14599715516e37 (= blank)? If not search the object that belongs to that form

After you changed it, refresh your form.
This works for me.

Johan

Re: 'Name cannot be left blank' when running a report

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:01 am
by JohnKlassen
Johan,

Thanks for your suggestion. Since I am somewhat new to NuBuilder, I am not sure I totally understand your suggestions. When I run

Code: Select all
select * from zzsys_object where zzsys_object_id = '145997277e1114';


it returns one row. The zzsys_id is '145997277e1114'. The sob_zzsys_form_id is '14599715516e37'. There are a number of fields in this row where the field name ends in 'no_blanks'. All of them are either blank, Null or have a '0' in them.

Is that what I should be looking for?

Thanks,

John

Re: 'Name cannot be left blank' when running a report

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:54 pm
by johan
John,

Seems the problem is solved (fine).

I just wanted to be sure that the object with zzsys_object_id = '145997277e1114' is the right object to make changes to.
I try to explain:

The BLANK form (used for report) in table zzsys_form has zzsys_form_id = '14599715516e37' ( This points to (FKEY) sob_zzsys_form_id on zzsys_objects). The hidden object name on that form is causing the problem. So if you wan't to be sure you have the right object you have to search all the objects that belongs to that form. (I just did it the other way round)

You can search all the objects that belongs to a form with
Code: Select all
select * from zzsys_object where sob_zzsys_form_id = '14599715516e37';
(just change the zzsys_form_id when you wan't the objects of an other form)

Hope this make sence
Johan

Johan

Re: 'Name cannot be left blank' when running a report

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:24 pm
by JohnKlassen
Johan,

Thanks for the explanation. It helps me better understand how NuBuilder works.

John

Re: 'Name cannot be left blank' when running a report

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:57 am
by admin
.